Need help grocery shopping... please!

Hi,
I'm new to HoChiMinh City District 11 so I grocery shop across the street at CitiMart or Lotte Mart (spelling?). Where do you buy your veggies and meat? Are those grocery stores safe to buy veggies or meat from? Thank you for any advice you can provide... I'm tired of ordering in :/

You will find Lotte Mart about 10% higher than any other expensive supermarket.

I get quality vegetables from Giants Supermarket at the Crescent Mall (in the basement) in Quan 7.

If you buy vegetables from local (street) markets often they are grown in less than wholesome conditions. (And the bugs stay with them until cooked at very high temperature.)

Co-op Mart is very well priced but their fish, meat and vegetable counter selections are not the greatest. They have an affinity program that pays big money. My wife just picked up over VND4,300,000 is cash, coupons and gifts as her annual credit.

Good potatoes are hard to find (no Idaho around here) so I use rice - so easy to cook in the microwave and cheap, too.

Jaitch wrote:

Good potatoes are hard to find (no Idaho around here) so I use rice - so easy to cook in the microwave and cheap, too.

Potatoes planted in Idaho tast better? I saw red potatoes imported from the US in Co.opmart. This type of rice is very good.   
http://nt9.upanh.com/b4.s33.d2/5597384093c65fb3ecac39f347ada0ac_51589929.img1802.jpg

Since you live in the "wrong" side of the town, it is difficult to recommend. By "wrong", I mean not D1, D7, An Phu where many of the foreigners live.

I shop at VgFood, a small shop in Hai Ba Trung in D1, Organik and Metro in Thao Dien and occasionally in Giants in D7. The first two shops are known to provide the high quality vegetables.

It all depends on whether you have access to a bike/car or not.