Hello to all on this forum. My name is Elek Klopfer and I am 53 years old. Born on 25th March 1958 and lived and raise in South Australia all my life, by wonderful and caring Hungarian parents. I have been to Budapest but only in late 1981 and see that by reading all the info how much has changed. I now no longer have any living relatives alive here SA, but have an aunty living in Budapest and so dissalusioned with life in general would like to now see what life has to offer in my parents home country and Europe. I am fortunate in that I can speak just about fluent Hungarian but alas can not read or write it.
I would like to get some advice from members who have moved to where I should start? I am on a pension due to an injury and as such will be at least getting an Australian pension to live on, but I am also a computer tech and have many handyman and mechanical experience. I wish to meet others living in Hungary anf make new friends and travel. So I do hope to see many from the forum in hopefully my new home soon.
Thanks to all for taking the time in reading about me, and as they say, Szia soon.

:-):)

Welcome Elek!
If I get it right, you are living in SA, but seriously thinking about or even decided to move to Budapest?
Regarding making ends meet, I would expect living costs in Budapest to be roughly 50% or more below that of an Australian town, the 'countryside'(=not budapest) is still cheaper, and not necessarily less pleasant. (its an educated guess, I have only visited perth, melbourne and sidney years ago)
Of course Hungary would be glad seeing you to spend some money in our economy:)

Hi , I am Carlo D.
Personal and group Instructor living in Budapest.
we can meet for a coffee after Septemner 19 .
szia.

[email protected]

Hello and welcome!

Does your injury require constant medical attention or treatment? I mean I don't need to know, you need to consider if you can put up with the Hungarian level of medical services.