English speaking expats in Switzerland

Hi, I'm just wondering how hard it is to communicate with locals, if one doesn't speak German/Swiss German in Switzerland, you know, just basic communication like at the supermarket, banks, etc. :P

I am in Zurich very often on business and have no problem with English, but I pretty much am only in the city center or out by the airport.  It might be a different stroy outside of big cities.

Yes, it is....we were in Thun visiting relatives and I ventured into the local Migros looking for nail polish remover (among other things) and that was....interesting!

I am quite new to switzerland and am looking for a sounding board for some business ideas, i speak little french and no german, i would like to find someone near the bulle-fribourg area for general cahats and possibly taking on as a advisor for my company the ideal person must have a  working knowledge of websites or the IT industry.

Can anyone tell me what it is like living in Fribourg in Switzerland please? Have a great life in Ireland but the future is not looking good. Have been offered a good job in Firbourg and would like to know more about the place and Social life, meeting people etc...

Hi Trinity

I live in the canton of Fribourg but about 12kms outside the city, however I have on too many occassions had some blinding nights out there, the city is a university city with a real lively buzzy nigght life...Im a bid of an older partier but have always gad a great time there.

To live the cost of living is comparible to the UK although the quality of service and amentzities are much better quality.

The Swiss are very proud of their country, it is a thriving and multi-cultral haven of pure beauty.

What do you do, I have just started a company and need English speaking people to assist me , I cant speak FRench being a lazy Brit.

Anthony

I will also be interested in the same subject - I expect to start the life there in August.
Thanks!