Hungarian bank account

Hi,

I'm new to budapest. I intend to stay here till at least the Summer and could do with a Hungarian bank account. But i have no idea which bank is best, the kind of accounts available to me, all the different charges they have for opening accounts and getting a card etc etc. When i try and reacrher it i just get lost! Can any expats perhaps help me? Recommend me something? thanks

Hi,

The charges vary depending on many things. For example you can get an account with low charges or basicaly free if you know that a each month a certain amount of money (the minimum is determined by the bank) will be transfered to your bank account. If so, try Citibank. Otherwise I would recommend you the AXA.

I hope it helps,

Thanks for the reply. I don't think I can guarantee a certain amount each month to be honest. Is AXA just online?

no, here's the address:

1138 Budapest 
Váci út 135-139. 

but before you go there it's better to call them first, I think
AXA: 06 40 30 30 30

For the time between now and this summer any banking fees will be dwarfed by the exchange rate fluctuations. If I were you, I'd waltz in to a few of the closest bank offices, and open an account where the atmosphere and English language service is most pleasing. You can always switch later if they start charging too much.

I have a current account with OTP which is one of the biggest banks here. They do charge for pretty much everything except purchases by debit card in shops but that is partly offset by them paying me interest (kamatjóváirás).

I would recommend to open up a bank account at Raiffeisen Bank thought. Their bank account maintenance fees are ok, and they offer good interest on deposits.