Husband and I thinking of moving to Malta, have lots of questions??

HI Everyone i hope that someone can help answer my questions, im a Trainer, / visual merchandiser by trade and my husband is a photographer. We are in the very early stages of thinking about making the move to Malta. I have Family that live in malta which i will get to know better if we move there, but i wanted to get opinions on where the best places to live are, we like the beach but also like the country side. We have a monthly budget of arouond 600 euros but need somewhere that will be suitable for 2 dogs with outdoor space. we can live without a Pool as i dont think we would get this for that sort of money. Also work wise we both need jobs for the above trades. Healthcare, is this private or is it similair to the NHS?

What are the weather seasons like and when?

Seee so many questions and i have more if there is anyone that can answer even one that would be a help and a step in the right direction. I look forward to any replies.  thanks  Rachel

Hi Rachel.

welcome to our forum. Browse around a bit , there are many previous posts about which areas to live in. There are many different opinions about where is best !

I'm not quite sure what Trainer/visual merchandizer means in the Maltese context.

As a photographer I presume your husband has his contacts and contracts outside of Malta. If not it might prove difficult to get into the Maltese networks as a newcomer but I don't really know much about that area.

For EU citizens healthcare is not based on residency as in the UK but on contributions if you work or you can pay privately.

The UK has agreements on transferring entitlement to national healthcare in Malta if contributions to the NHS have been made in the past. That can be for up to 2 1/2 years . You should check  out the exact terms and conditions in the UK (NHS) while you are still there. THere are also previous posts on this subject.

Cheers
Ricky