Seeking Advice for Relocating to Germany (Berlin or Cologne)

Hello fellow expats and soon-to-be expats,

I hope this message finds you all in good health and high spirits. I'm reaching out to this community in the hopes of gathering some valuable insights and perhaps even forming connections with like-minded individuals.

A little about myself: I am a former professional athlete who, after an exciting career that took me to numerous countries, now faces the exhilarating challenge of planning a move back to Germany. This transition is a particularly daunting task for me, as my previous sports contracts always encompassed accommodation, insurance, and various logistical arrangements. Now, with this responsibility squarely on my shoulders, I find myself in need of guidance and assistance from those who have navigated similar paths.

Having previously lived in Germany during my competitive years, I am well-acquainted with the lifestyle and cultural nuances. However, transitioning from an athlete's lifestyle to that of an independent expat is a significant shift, and I believe that the insights and experiences of this community can be invaluable in making this journey a success.

I am particularly drawn to two vibrant cities in Germany: Berlin and Cologne. If any of you have insights or recommendations specific to these locations, I would greatly appreciate your input. As an EU citizen, I have the privilege of being able to explore new career paths within the European Union.

My Goal in 1 Sentence: I aspire to relocate to either Berlin or Cologne, ensuring I secure both accommodation and employment.

My Challenge: I'm confronted with the unfamiliar territory of transitioning from professional sports, which feels like a difficult task. However, my determination to succeed drives me to embrace any necessary steps to accomplish this new chapter in my life.

In my quest to gather information and connect with fellow adventurers, I have a few questions: