Work Visa for Telecommuting

Hi all! Sorry if this has been addressed a million times over, but I keep receiving conflicting information.

I will be permanently relocating to Playa del Carmen within nine months or so. I am a freelance journalist who contracts with U.S.-based companies. All of my work is done within a virtual environment, so I can work from anywhere in the world. All of my income comes from the United States.

Do I need to obtain a work permit?

Thanks in advance.
K.K.

No. Every six months you can renew your tourist visa with a trip to Belize or Guatemala. Don't mention working when you arrive in Mexico.

Thank you!

Now, I have more questions. :lol:

Do Mexican immigration authorities keep track of how many times you leave and return? I was wondering about electronic data from scanning passports. And do you know how long you have to be over the border before returning? Will there be any problems with my car?

Now your question is more interesting. How attached are you to your car? Can you sell it? Do you have a lot of stuff? It's a long drive all across Mexico to Playa del Carmen, and not cheap with all the toll roads. Not to mention that Northern Mexico isn't too safe at the moment.

If you do bring your car in, I really don't know what will happen. I think I remember hearing that you have to buy insurance at the border. Do you speak Spanish? If not you will get shaken down at every opportunity.

As far as leaving and reentering the country, I don't know if they keep records but I wouldn't worry about it. By the time you are ready for your visa run you will have spent 6 months in Mexico and had access to better information.

You will be happy earning dollars while living here! Good luck!

I can't thank you enough for the information. I guess I'll deal the car situation when it gets closer to the time we move. We do have some things that need to be transported, but I guess we can get a customs broker to deal with that.