Cost of living and life standarts in Villach, Austria

Hello everyone. Im a senior engineer and just about to accept a job offer. So we may move to Villach very soon with my wife and our baby. My wife will be taking care of our daughter, therefore there will be only me who will work for now. At that point, I have some concerns. if anyone can give me some info; it will be so enlightening for me to firm up our decision.

What an average salary should be to have economically a life with no hussle? Like for a family of there, how much should I make a month in gross to have a good balanced life.

Secondly, we don't know speaking German, but very eager to learn definetly. But until we learn, do you think it will be enough speaking English. How is the approach of the society in Villach? For example in Holland, it is super easy to have a quite good life with only English, people are very warm and tolerant for non-speakers.

And the last question, how is the life for kids, safety, education, racism and so?

Thank you very much for your support and I will be very appreciated for any feedback.

Welcome to the forum.

As a starting point, try www.numbeo.com for living costs.

A Google search should come up with salary needs etc.

Perhaps read other posts here too.

Hey stumpy,

Thank you. I've made many search online, but information are different from eachother. So nothing is like to listen to the other people's real life experiences. Plus, here on the forum, there is no enough up to date info about that topic. Do you live in Villach?

Austria is one of the safest countries in Europe so ideal to bring up a family. You are paid 14 months in Austria, double pay in the Summer and double pay in at Christmas.

@SimCityAT

hello, thanks for sharing your experiences. It is so precious to me. What about using English at start of that journey?

@SimCityAT
hello, thanks for sharing your experiences. It is so precious to me. What about using English at start of that journey?