Health insurance question

Hello - newbie here!  We are Sam and Bob and have just taken the plunge on purchasing an apartment in Peyia after deciding to take early retirement at the tender ages of 55 and 56 :)  We have a lawyer sorted and they are dealing with all the usual property bits and pieces, as well as our visa (pink slip) application, etc.  However, I'm struggling with finding 'local' health insurance which we'll need initially until we get our permanent residency.

I am a breast cancer survivor (18 months clear now) but need preventative meds for the next few years, as well as some other prescription meds (inhalers, epipens, etc).  The lawyer said I should be able to find some cover at around the €100-200/month (even with pre-existing conditions) but the only ones I can seem to find at those offering 'international' cover and the costs are well over €4-5k annually.  So wondered if there's anyone else like me who can point me in the direction of getting a quote for local health insurance cover.

It's exciting times for us in the UK at the moment as our house sale is progressing and all being well, we should be settling in to our new place in about 3-4 months. 

Thank you

Sam

Welcome! Exciting times for sure and you will not be disappointed :-)

I am sure there will be some suggestions on the health insurance front from others here. I had medical cover with my job but would expect you will have a bigger cost given your medical history.

If you are non European have you prepared all the docs you need for the immigration in Cyprus? Some you will be best to obtain before departure as it will be easier.   The default here for professionals is very laid back so I recommend you be proactive on the immigration and get everything in order in advance or you will be running about after arrival :-/ If you need a heads up just ask as I am going thru this now since early Dec2022 so have details of the new requirements that came into play from the 1st Jan.