About Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia is a country of 607 islands scattered across the northwestern Pacific Ocean. Diversity is inherent in the region with each island state offering a different type of adventure. There are four island states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae — each distinctive and intriguing in its own way.

Take Yap has incredibly well-preserved traditions which, among other things, include the use of large stone discs as money. Yap state comprises four main islands and ten atolls floating amidst stunning coral reefs and harbouring a varied marine life. Diving, kayaking, and snorkelling are some of the main activities to indulge in ' as is the hike to the region's highest point, Taabiywal.

Chuuk is the mecca for scuba diving and is considered to offer the best dive sites in the whole of Micronesia. Here, you can find ship wreckage from the World War II hidden away in the tranquil lagoons amidst colourful corals and go hiking up the rolling hills for some truly picturesque views.

Pohnpei is the largest island and offers a great inland experience with scenic hiking and trekking trails leading through unspoilt rainforests right to spectacular waterfalls. The state is also rich in historical sites: Japanese shrines, the German Bell Tower, the Spanish Wall, etc..

Kosrae takes the lead if what you are looking for is tranquillity and getting away from it all. You can spend your time enjoying the quiet beach, or head inland to explore old ruins dating back to the Neolithic age and trek through lush mangroves. Scuba diving and snorkelling are also on the menu ' explore the region's diverse marine life or swim into the harbours to discover the wreckage of World War II ships.

The economy of all the four states is mostly based on sustenance, farming, and fishing. Tourism is considered a sector with high potential but its development is currently limited because of the lack of facilities and the island's' remote location.

Micronesia's entry policy is more than welcoming ' most foreign nationals can travel to the region visa-free for up to 30 days.