About South Sudan

South Sudan is landlocked between Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo, and Central African Republic. Its capital is Juba, and the currency is the Sudanese pound. The Republic of South Sudan only obtained its independence in 2011, following Africa's longest civil war. Despite the separation from Sudan, conflict did not end after South Sudan obtained its independence.

The population of South Sudan is roughly 10 million, and is made up of over 60 ethnic groups, the largest of which are the Dinka, Nuer, and Shilluk. Many South Sudanese have fled the country due to the war, relocating to the North America, Western Europe, and Australia. Many more fled to neighbouring countries such as Kenya, Ethiopia, Sudan, and Uganda, assimilating into the culture and learning the language. Others maintain the traditional indigenous religions practiced heavily in South Sudan. There is a very small minority of South Sudanese that follow Christianity and Islam in the country. The official languages are English and Arabic, although there are over 60 traditional languages that exist. The South Sudanese culture places emphasis on keeping the traditional culture, speaking the dialect, and understanding one's tribal origin.

The economy of South Sudan used to depend mostly on agriculture, but is now more dependent on oil. Despite being rich in oil, it is still one of the least developed countries in Africa. Heavily affected by war, the country has suffered from famine, access to clean water, poverty, lack of proper infrastructure, and much more.

Made up of tropical forests, plateaus, swamps, and grassland, South Sudan has a tropical climate, with large amounts of rainfall and humid weather during the months of May to October. The Bandingilo National Park is a protected area where large wildlife migration occurs. Other places such as the plateaus, forest reserves, savannas and wetlands are home to many interesting wildlife, such as the African wild dogs, lions, elephants, antelopes, etc.