Medical Volunteering

Hello everyone,
I will be in Nairobi in April 2017 and I'm interested in doing medical volunteering.
I am a paramedic and am interested in volunteering either in a hospital, clinic or on an ambulance. Does anyone have any guidance for me or leads I could look into? Thanks!

Unfortunately, I don't have any contacts for you.   In Nairobi, Kenyatta National Hospital is the main public facility.  Nairobi Hospital and Aga Khan are private and have accident & emergency (ER).  Ambulances are few.  Nairobi Hospital has one or two, some of the medical insurance companies such as AAR have them.  The rest are operated by the county governments.

The other thing to note is that volunteer work is prohibited without a work permit.  There is a temporary pass, known as a 'Special Pass' which would allow you to work for (I believe) 3 months, renewable for a further 3 months.   You must have a detailed and signed cover letter from the organisation you wish to volunteer for.  You also need certified copies of your professional certificates.  For some professions you need to register locally.   So, its isn't simply a case of turning up and helping out.   In my experience, applications for permits/passes can take a few weeks, so you might already be cutting it fine to arrange it all for April.

One other aspect;  the public health doctors have been on strike for almost 2 months now and there doesn't seem to be much sign of it ending!

Thanks for the information.
Yes, I have been reading about the strike - that was one of the reasons I thought it might be easier to help. I am sympathetic to the physician's problems and the problems of healthcare in general in many places in Africa.
I'll continue to seek contacts online but, yes, it sounds like it may take longer then I imagined.