Any native English Speaker around ?

Hello
My name is Liz, I have been visiting Marrakech for over 8 years as my in-laws live there. I will be in Marrakech for a week from Thursday. I know lots of Moroccans but would love to meet some expats to extend my circle of native English speakers. I am particularly looking for people with young families as I have a 3 year old son, and we struggle to find a variety of things for him to do when we are there.

Any suggestions would be great...:)

Hi Liz,

Welcome to Expat.com :)

I have created a new thread as from your post on the Marrakech Forum for better visibility and interaction :)

Thank you

Maximilien

English is very often spoken in Amal Women's Center in Guéliz.

The British Business Groups holds monthly member meetings the second Wednesday of each month at 11:00 at les Entrepotes, Gueliz (opp Droguerie Hanaf) next one is May 14th 2014.

There was a lively discussion on the facebook group Expats in Marrakech about where to take kids out for a play.

Best rated playground seems to be the Afriquia playground on Route de Casa (After marjane, towards Casa, before the big round about, on your right. And yes, it's part of a petrol station complex, but it's well isolated from the roadside, provides a big playground, good food at decent price that provides some of '5 a day'. The taghanout bread, fresh from a traditional clay oven, is the best I've had in 4 years in Marrakech. The live music can sometimes be overbearing, but overall it's a decent place for children, expats and locals, to play while parents can sit in the shade.  (don't forget hat, sun tan cream & lots of water to drink). It's just about accessible by taxi, but coming back might be an issue if you haven't made prior arrangements.