Monthly expenditure in KL

i am a software professional. got job in KL,malaysia.
will be getting 7000RM(including tax)
wanted to know decent cost of living in Kualalumpur.

will be interested in 1BHK flat or in sharing basis.
Most probably will cook at home
use public transport

Now please help me out to get rough idea about monthly expenditure.

Thanks in advance,

Soni

Hello Soni,

Have a look at following thread by khenhh. It has some good information regarding cost of living in Malaysia.

https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=106975

Regards,
Usman

Hi it depends where you live work etc. Public transport in KL is vary bad unless you live work near train stations. Some newer areas dont have bus routes etc.

KL has become very expensive and easy to spend your salary. Basic food and living costs are far higher than they were and didn't I see somewhere that KL is now as expensive as San francisco to live in?

If sharing you can prob live accommodation wise on 1k Inc bills and food 500 rm a month. I have noticed that food prices are so high in KL it's actually shocking. I have been away 7 years and really noticed the price rises. Travel depends on where etc. If you don't drink or party much then costs are a lot less. Any form of electronic goods are expensive and designer clothes are double or triple real prices so local unbranded only (I intend to fly to Singapore or UK to get my clothes once a year as save enough to pay for flight and hotel)

Nemodot wrote:

KL has become very expensive and easy to spend your salary. Basic food and living costs are far higher than they were and didn't I see somewhere that KL is now as expensive as San francisco to live in?