$3000 plus all living costs enough?

Hey,

I'm from the UK, been living in China for 3 years, I'm studying a master's online and I'm tired of China.

Been offered a job on the out skirts of KL, they are offering $3000 a month, before tax.

They also provide all electricity fees, gas, internet and any rent upto 5,000 RM.

Essentially all costs for housing are taken care of, plus insurance.

Please bare in mind they don't give me 5,000 RM, they pay upto that, so if I stay in a place that's 2,000 I don't get 3,000 back!

After initial tax, that works out at $2,200 at 26%. So, is it realistic to live on 2,200 dollars?

I'm single with no kids or wife, and I'm hoping to save a bit. I like to cook, I speak Chinese and prefer to eat local foods than imported foods. I don't drink or smoke and my work assures me I can find an apartment 5 minutes from the office, so I guess transport costs are low.

I would assume with working and studying together I'd be quite 'routiney', i.e. not hitting up bars or clubs or anything. I'd prefer to stay in and watch a movie, I'm sure I'll be exhausted.

So, what's my realistic expenses?

Mobile Phone
Groceries
Entertainment [maybe Cinema or playing sports]
Gym [need to get in shape, don't we all!]

Anything else I need to be aware of?

I've been to KL before, and AS A TOURIST, found it on about the same elvel as Beijing but cheaper than SGP and HK, Tokyo and most European cities. I would say it was about as expensive as Cairo or Casablanca from what I can remember.

Using cheap airlines I saw that travelling could be done quite quickly, is internal travel cheap in Malaysia? How about hopping to Indonesia or Thailand?

Thanks for any replies, appreciated.

The bear.

Hi no way can you save on that. Yes you can just survive if you don't drink alcohol, don't eat out, avoid the cinema etc so basically just spend nothing but essentials and study non stop.

You certainly couldn't afford to travel.