Marriage In Bulgaria

Hi Everyone,

I was doing some research on the documents required to get married in Bulgaria as a foreigner. However, I'm not clear about the type of identity documents that are required when you register the marriage at town hall. Does it require you to present your birth certificate in order to get married in Bulgaria?

Also, for the medical certificate do I need to visit a psychologist because somewhere I read there needs to be a psychiatric release, and a tuberculosis screening. Is it not just the blood test? If anyone has gone through the medical exams please let me know how the medical exams were performed.

Much Appreciated,

Ellie

@Ellie888

Congratulations? :-)

I am no expert on Bulgarian marriage, but I think your passport will be fine as proof of ID. I doubt they will insist on your birth certificate as well.

The medical certificate is easy, just go to any doctor/clinic and tell them what it's for (so if marriage does require a TB check, they'll do it). I've done a couple of medical certificates here (for a teaching job, and for driving license) and they took a cursory look and then wrote the certificate. (It seems to me they assume that if you can walk into a doctor's office unaided, you are fit and well.)

I don't think you need a psychiatric certificate. But it's a similar process, at the appropriate clinic. I did it in Plovdiv (teaching job), and there was only one hospital doing this. The lady there (I think it was the receptionist, rather than a real psychiatrist) asked 2 questions: Do you have 20 leva? Is there anything wrong with you? And then gave me the certificate.