Please help an idiot - tax related

Hello all,

I am new to this so please help if you can. I don't know why I am having so much trouble understanding this but it should be easy for someone.

Form 2555 line 1 8 is asking me to report my travel and it say s the following:

"Exclude travel between foreign countries that didn't involve travel on or over international waters, or in or over the United States, for 24 hours or more."
Then column (a) goes on to says "Name of country (including US)"

The way I understand the United States part is that if for example I traveled from canada to mexico and my flight went over the united states for less than 24 hours then I do not have to report this travel?

Whereas

If I traveled from canada to mexico and during that travel stayed in usa for three days then I have to report my travel/stay in USA? Or if I was in USA for three days visiting then I have to report this too?

Thank you. Sorry if this is the wrong part of the forum for this question, I thought this generic forum would be best.

KPMG can help.

IMO your assumptions are correct. But make sure.

Hello notthisagain and welcome to expat.com :)

I moved your topic to the USA forum, I think more people will be able to help you here ;)

Have a great day & stay safe !

(and good luck with the taxes)

Regards.

Loïc

Philippine Destiny wrote:

IMO your assumptions are correct. But make sure.

Make sure how?

Loïc wrote:

Hello notthisagain and welcome to expat.com :)

I moved your topic to the USA forum, I think more people will be able to help you here ;)

Have a great day & stay safe !

(and good luck with the taxes)

Regards.

Loïc

Thank you :)

Line 18 of form 2555 is to report your US travels to make sure you meet the PPT if you have any US travel. Your understanding seems correct.