Reading habits in Vietnam

Hello everyone,

Books can be your greatest companions whether you have already settled in Vietnam or are now planning your move. Are you an avid or occasional reader? We would like to know more about your reading habits.

What type of reading do you enjoy? Do you read novels, comics, magazines, newspapers, etc.?

Where do you purchase or borrow books in Vietnam (bookstores, online, library subscription, etc.)? Do you prefer digital reading?

Do you have an average budget devoted to reading in Vietnam? Do you buy books or pay a library membership fee?  Do you spend more or less than in your country of origin?

In what languages can you find the books that you usually read?

What books or magazines would generally be found on your bedside table?

Thanks for participating,

Bhavna

Yes, I am an avid reader.  I read mostly novels and I've been working with students online as a reading tutor since 2012.

I have tried to set-up reading programs with students here in Vietnam but haven't had much success. It seems most students are just too busy to prioritize time for reading. I think this is a shame because reading can help them a great deal with their English skills plus listening, speaking, and writing can easily be incorporated into a reading tutor class, helping them prepare for IELTS. In addition, subconsciously, the students pick up the grammar as they read.

I prefer hard copies of my books and that's what I always bought back in America but due to the difficulty of finding English language books here in Vietnam, I have learned to settle for electronic versions, mainly on my Kindle. I spend about the same amount here as I did back in America.

Thank you for you're interest.

-  Are you an avid or occasional reader? We would like to know more about your reading habits.