Buy in US or DR to furnish a new apt in Punta Cana

Hi, we are new to this forum, my husband and I live in NY.
We are buying a 2 bedroom apt in Punta Cana, new construction. We are looking for best & economical way to furnish it, from appliances to couch to mattresses etc. The DR Consulate mentioned getting the residency as either investor or retiree. I am a designer and would love to take my time in New York shopping and then shipping, but before we move in any direction we have few questions. 1. What are  the legal implications to get residence In DR, 2. will it be worth to get the residency just to to ship container and save money, 3.if we get residence do we need to live in DR for long 4.  besides not paying duties do we have any other benefit by becoming residents 5. Apt will be ready by end of year, when should we start residence process 6. Finally any recommendations on good economical movers to price container, I rather have door to door service from NY. 

Your help will be greatly appreciated., thanks

The SteinSol

Welcome to the forums.  Many of the questions you are asking have been answered on various forums.  I will condense them here.

1. Legal implications: residencia makes you legal here. Otherwise you are limited to 30 day tourist card or 60 day tourist visa. Residencia has several threads already.

2. Residency allows you to ship one container of household goods NOT brand new items to furnish your new place.

3. No

4. Covered in the residency threads and it makes you legal

5. You should have started 6 months ago.

Everything you need to furnish  an apt is available here with biggest selection in Santo Domingo. You may not get same choices as NY but you will find more selection then you think.  As you travel back and forth bring the little touches with you.

Thank you planner, I admire your dedication to the forum. I see you in most of the threads.