Laptop PC and WIFI

Hi

I'm new to laptops and WIFI.

Ive got a windows 7 laptop, which i want to know if its possible to attach some kind of USB WIFI adapter/receiver/antenna to in order to be able to access the internet for free (without me being signed up to some paid for WIFI service) when and where ever a WIFI signal can be received. In any country.

How possible and easy is this, and how reliable would the internet connection be?

Or do I need to be inside a shop/building that has free WIFI?

Or do I need to already be signed up to and paying for some WIFI internet service?

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

The first thing that you should be aware of is that Microsoft will no longer support Windows 7 after 14 January 2020; so you are facing an ongoing security problem.

That aside - most laptops have wifi built into them; if not, you can check out places like Amazon or E-Bay for an after-market new one; make sure that it's compatible with Windows 7 and has an appropriate USB connection - not all USB connectors are compatible with all USB versions.

Free wifi generally means just that, it's free to connect, many coffee shops and bars offer free wifi, but the unknown will be the quality of the connection, by this I mean, you may be able to download your e-mail and browse the text-based internet, but you may not get a decent video connection for things like movies or video communications.  Also some of the places that offer free-wife place a limit on how long you can connect for, or how much bandwidth you can use.

Hope this helps.

Cynic
Expat Team

Windows 7 is a problem as support is about to be withdrawn.
Even old machines like your will probably have a wifi adaptor built in
You need to be in range of a wifi network - Shopping centres, restaurants and so on commonly have these.
You can by portable mifi units that work from a SIM card but you have to pay for those.