Work Visa with no degree

Dear all,

I am sure this question has been commonly asked and i have probably read everything that is on the Internet. However mystery is still not solved.

Basically my current company would like to send me to the office in Shanghai. I was in the process applying for the work pass and have been informed that because i do not have a BA , my option would be as follows:

1) pay IIT and earn min of RMB 26K 

A brief description, i have 10 years of related experience, i am on home contract. Realistically, my salary is not sufficient for the Income Tax which would be applicable for RMB 26K.

Are my options exhausted and that there is no hope whatsoever? I would appreciate if you could offer any kind of advice. Thank you!

@Mngedo

While you have provided more information than most, what you have provided is really scant for the level of detail that you require in your answer. That being stated, I will take a shot at it.

First of all, salary at a company is not determined by the Chinese government in any way, shape or form. It is determined by the company. And, only by the company. If the company is reducing your salary for reason XXXXX, it is their decision, not any rule, law or policy of China.

This is an absolute truth and not a debatable issue.

The only relationship between salary and the Chinese government is in the amount of taxes that are withheld out of your pay. To keep the taxes low, many (but not all) foreign companies pay expat salaries in two ways.

[1] They provide a visible salary (often small) where taxes are removed, and [2] a hidden salary which is deposited in your normal foreign bank account. It is my guess that this is what the company is going to do in your case.

They will pay you 26,000 RMB/month in China and pay the taxes on this. The remainder of your regular salary will be paid to your regular (normal) bank account and your home nation taxes will be deducted out of it.