Vietnam Blacklist Story (FYI)--what to do and not to do.

Hey all--I thought I might share my story so that anyone else might avoid the problems I ran into.

In April of 2018, after about a year in VN, I went on a normal visa run, but I had stupidly misread my visa expiration date, It read 5/4/2018, and as an American, I read that as "May 4th 2018", but it was really "April 5th 2018". That was my mistake, I've been traveling for years--it's the first visa related mistake I've ever made.

I had overstayed something like 27 days, inadvertently. So I immediately I went to the immigration department, they took my passport, and I had to write down on a piece of paper why I overstayed, so I wrote the truth.

I also had to write what I was doing in Vietnam, and I wrote that I am a photographer and a professional dancer (salsa), both true.

A few weeks later, I paid about 4mil VND and got my visa back. I asked if I would have any trouble entering the country again, and they said "try for a new visa". I specifically asked if I was on any black list as a result, and they just kept saying 'apply again for a visa'.

I didn't suspect anything else, and everyone I talked to, including travel agencies AND the agency that works directly with the immigration department, said there's no chance I'd get on the blacklist for that infraction. After researching, I found out that the blacklist was for people with major infractions, so I was confident that I couldn't have gotten on the list that criminals end up on.

Well, then I applied for a new visa and got denied. I thought I made a typo, so I applied again. Denied. Then I thought maybe the agency was not doing it right, so I tried another agency. Denied. Then I went directly to the immigration department with a translator to figure out what was happening--they refused to provide any information.