Help returning to roots-first step inquiries

Hello all,
My husband and I are both born in Puerto Rico but raised in the states. We have both always wanted to move back and would only do so with the right opportunities. We are both successful by American standards (professional, house, etc) and unless we could have a similar lifestyle then it defeats the purpose of why our parents left to begin with. We don't mind downsizing- we just want the island pace where things aren't so rushed and experiences vs things. We love the outdoors, and quite frankly, the island has much of that to offer...and free. Plus, you can't beat the food and smiling faces 😉
I am a registered nurse with 7 years of experience in an ER/trauma. I am also in nurse practitioner school and will finish, God-willing, in September. I am aware there are limited positions as such. My husband is an aircraft mechanic/quality assurance with the AirForce currently. 
We are wondering what the transition is like for Americans moving there. How to look for living accommodations (Buy or rent first), school for kids (elementary) and daycare, commutes, common problems you didn't think of until you lived there, etc.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the forum and hopefully PR soon.

Some of your post makes me think you want to be where it is happening while some tells me you want a relaxed nature environment.

A lot depends on your life style preferences.

I was born and raised in PR until after 20 years old, left the island, spend 40+ years outside and returned back retired and never leaving again.

Schooling in general falls into 3 categories, homeschooling, public schools or private schools. Again it is up to you and your budget but most mainlanders opt for private schools if they can afford it.

School selection should drive your location unless your kids are not going to be attending schools for many more years.