Hungarian citizenship - registered partnership

Hello!

I'm a Brazilian medical student and I'll finish my studies this year. I lived in Hungary through an intership program and I studied one year at the University of Szeged (faculty of medicine). On that period I met my hungarian partner and we've been together for almost 5 years. I'm planning to move to hungary to work there as a doctor and to have a registered partnership (we are a gay couple). So I would like to know if after a certain period I could apply for a Hungarian citizenship or if it is allowed just for straight couples. Thanks in advance for the informations!

felipessan wrote:

Hello!

I'm a Brazilian medical student and I'll finish my studies this year. I lived in Hungary through an intership program and I studied one year at the University of Szeged (faculty of medicine). On that period I met my hungarian partner and we've been together for almost 5 years. I'm planning to move to hungary to work there as a doctor and to have a registered partnership (we are a gay couple). So I would like to know if after a certain period I could apply for a Hungarian citizenship or if it is allowed just for straight couples. Thanks in advance for the informations!

I believe that civil partnerships are fine in Hungary but it's not clear if the Hungarians would treat you legitimately and properly "on the ground" in the civil administration.   

If you are treated properly - equally and fairly - then presumably the same would apply as straight couples and the process would be the same. 

Why don't you get your HU partner to ask at the Immigration Office?  But in general, yes, you have to wait some years to receive citizenship plus good behaviour, blah-blah, etc.

You may find this recent article very relevant to your position - ECJ ruling on gay couples.