Inheritance in Belgium. Is this a violation of Human Rights?

My Husband has recently died after a long illness. He was a Director of a company that went into bankruptcy during his illness. This is still with the Trustees and is taking a long time.

I am told that if my children (over 18 years old) or myself accept any inheritance we are also accepting any liabilities that my Husband incurs when the bankruptcy case eventually ends. We are being advised to reject our inheritance. Any funds will then go to the state.

A decision has to be made very soon while the court case - if there is one - is expected to go on for at least a year and probably longer.

Is this a violation of Human Rights?
What happened to being innocent until proved guilty?
No one has given me any indication that if he is cleared (he is innocent) that the inheritance can be recalled.

Any comments or ideas on this gratefully received.

Thank you.

Sorry for your loss. I am no expert but I think I understand your question.
Regarding inheritance, it is common that if you claim inheritance you will inherit both good and bad after the deceased.
Once renounced, inheritance cannot ever be claimed back unless you can prove you were physically forced to renounce and that you can't in this case.
If you claim inheritance, and his undoubted responsibility for the company's failiour be proved in the court proceedings, you will inherit all of the penalties and liabilities.
His assets are blocked until court decision regarding his influence on the bankruptcy is reached.
Sorry but that's risk that has to be taken based on your personal knowledge of judgement of the deceased.

Thank you for your very quick response.