Newbie in Medellin

I am a triathlete coaching and train runners and Ironman triathletes at our week long training camps in Nicaragua Costa Rica Panama. Wll be adding new camps in Colombia and Ecuador next year.
I am from Charleston South Carolina but spending most of my life in central and south america past two years.
Really like Colombia people nice weather great and economical.
Plan to make my base in Medellin - rent a house soon close to metro and Estadio and take out new residency soon.
Cheers

Hi Ernie,
My family is also from the lowcountry. I am living in the friendly satellite town of Sabaneta. Welcome to Colombia. Estadio is a lively area. Enjoy. Landstryker

thanks

Good day everyone,
As a Newbie I will be traveling from the states to Medellin the end of next week.
This will be my first trip for me. I plan on staying the full 90 days and hopefully
all the cold weather will be past by the time I get back home.

I am doing a homestay that is connected with a Spanish immersion school in
Envigado. My goal is to learn Spanish and get aquainted with the city. I'm 65 and
if I like what I see, I plan on coming back and working the summer and return next fall.
  I plan on taking along 4 sets of clothes and other assorted personal things. Including my mini desktop and monitor. Whatever else I need I plan on purchasing locally. Will also get a cell phone on arrival.
I'm curious of what else I wished I should bring along besides the above mentioned.
  I have called my credit card company and my card is set to work in Colombia. I
Know that I won't be able to use it everywhere. This leads to the question of cash. Do I need to convert US dollars to Peso's ??

I welcome all opinions from those that have been there Done that !
Thanks in advance !

fajim2004 wrote:

I will be traveling from the states to Medellin the end of next week.
This will be my first trip....

Do I need to convert US dollars to Pesos ??