Cost of Living in Germany - Baden Wurttemberg

Hello All,

I am an Electronics engineer having 14 years of international experience in various countries.

I am looking forward to move to Germany to take up employment, with my family (Myself, Wife and 2 Kids , 4 years old and 2 years old)

I am contemplating for a job offer in South Germany. I request for your guidance before i negotiate the salary.

My prospective employer has verbally indicate a Annual Gross salary of Euro 72,000

I calculated my monthly net salary (after tax, health and pension deduction) for Tax Category 3 to be Euros 4,000

Based on this i have made the below budget for a month

4 Room Apartment (warm)                      1100
Utility (Electricity, water etc)                     250
Telephone and High Speed Internet      100
Food, Groceries, Snacks, Restaurant      1000
Entertainment, Clothing                            200
Saving for Annual Vacation                       300
Buy a new Car (monthly instalments)     350
Car maintenance, tax, fuel                         300

The Total Expenses sum upto Euros 3600

Which leaves me with a small saving of 400 euros.

I understand the Kindergarten and school for kids is for free, Maybe it costs some money.

Please advise is my budgeting correct and enough to lead a decent comfortable life? Or should i capture any other cost apart from above

Also is the prospective employer offering a fair salary?

Your help and inputs is much appreciated

The salary is standard for your background. Using http://www.brutto-netto-rechner.info and some assumed settings, I get €3850 payout per month, but this depends on your personal circumstances and can differ.
It is difficult and prone to mistakes to make a detailed budget beforehand - and it's equally difficult for us to comment on it, without knowing your lifestyle, preferences and spending habits.
I'll try some comments nevertheless: