Chinese in Accra/Kumasi?

Hi everyone:

I'm a Chinese American writing a book about Chinese migrants/immigrants in different parts of the world, and am planning a trip to Africa.

I've read that there's a Chinese population in Ghana -- can anyone tell me more? For example, do Chinese people mostly work for state-owned enterprises, or do they own stores or restaurants? Do they tend to live in a particular area? How do locals get along with the Chinese?

Thanks!

Welcome on board knitty ;)

I am chinese

I was talking to my partner who is Ghanaian and lived in Ghana in 60s and 70s and he said that there was no recognisable Chinese population in Ghana at that time. Now there are a lot of Chinese people in Ghana due to the trade between the two countries and the opportunities for development but not sure how much social interaction there is between Ghanaians and Chinese.

Hi knitty,
I am a Malaysian Chinese and I am new to Ghana too ( 3 months ). However i have passed by a couple of Chinese restaurants and grocery shops here in Accra and Tema. Get in touch with me when you arrive in Ghana and perhaps i can help bring you around to these places.
Bye.

Hi knitty,

Me again. I think the best source of info may be the Chinese Embassy in Accra. The Chinese are involved in the construction of some highway projects, Bui Dam and probably some mineral mining activities as well so the Chinese Embassy will be able to give you some relevant material for your research.
Good luck.

Hello Every one
I am a chinese and now live in Hong Kong. Last month on Feb I visited West Africa-Ghana,i feel so nice this counrtry.I wonder if i have chance to work there and attend christian church service? I'm planning to the city Kumasi next time,wanted work there or be as a volunteer. Thanks pay my blog attention.

You will certainly have chance to attend a Christian service - there are a variety of churches in Ghana.