Who can tell me how life really is for a married western woman?

Hello everybody,

My husband is getting a job opportunity to work in SA in Jubail as an engineer. I'm not scared of adventures, but I think I'm being realistic to think about what it will bring for me.

I'm a self employes jewel designer, 31 years old. I'm wondering if I could work in SA, and sell my jewels. And how life really is as a western woman. I've red all the 'take it easy's on the forum (I think they were mostly from men), but I think I'd have to addapt big time.

Do I have to wear an abaya, or is a headscarf enough? How is the social life? And more inportently the social life during the day (when the husbands are working ;-))

What does the life cost in Jubail? What's a proper deal for a university engineer whit 7 years of experiance in the petrol industry? Somebody told me the salary is taxfree? Is that true? Me husband would be working for a SA cooparation, so not officially an expat.

Who can give me some serious tips and advices? (please not 'the take it easy' or 'it will be ok' messages, thanks)

Greetings Orchidee

Orchidee, you're one smart cookie to have picked up on the fact that it's always the men who say 'take it easy' to women  (and once or twice it was a Saudi guy, like he even has a clue what it's like to be an expat woman!) lol

I replied to your PM but two things based on this post:  in the USA, the money made abroad is tax-free, up to about $85,000/year.   You need to google the exact tax info as applies  to the Netherlands.

Also, even though your hubby is employed by a Saudi company (I am, too), you both are expats (so welcome to the forum!).

I think she meant her hubby would be working for a South African Corporation and not a Saudi Company.

I am sure Orchidee would be able to market her jewelery designs to the many expat womenfolk living in western Compounds in the Eastern Province?

Hello Orchidee and welcome to Expat.com ;)