Relocating to Antigua or Panajachel, Guatemala

Hi-Seriously considering moving from the States, South Florida area to Antigua, Guatemala or Panajachel on Lake Atitlan. I will be receiving social security in a couple of months and hope to be able to live a fairly comfortable, not extravagant lifestyle on my social security. I'm a single guy, so I don't need much-maybe a studio or 1 bedroom apartment. I spent a week in Guatemala in May, spending a couple of days in Antigua. I helped at a medical clinic for a day in the mountains, which I loved. I was a pharmacist in the States and can still help out with an organization providing healthcare to the indigent. Undecided about living by the lake or in Antigua. Would love some feedback and ideas for rentals.
Thanks

Ira

Hi Ira
Great idea... for rentals please contact Aaron Salguero at ***
there are several low cost options in Panajachel
See you around soon
Armand

I have lived in Pana 14 years as founder of saludypaz.org

See website. Several rural medical clinics. Always looking for volunteers like you. Pana is a great place to live on retirement. Antigua is much more expensive.

Hi Ira,
I have lived here in Antigua for five years now and love it. Although I like the Lake, it is very slow paced and a bit isolated for my taste. Having lived in Chicago, I need more than a couple people around me! You might try a few months in each place to see how they fit your personality. I rented quite a few places in Antigua, each time a better fit. Now I have my dream apartment for $$450 a month, with a garage, door opener, free internet and cable. Balcony with view of the volcano. It takes patience and looking, with many many different agents and friends, plus check in the Revue and Que Pasa, in print as well as online. In addition, on Facebook there is a AntiguaClassifieds. Good Luck, this is a great place to live!

Barbara

Hola,

I am a retired laboratory scientist from the EPA. I then began teaching the sciences overseas.