Expat Meeting in Recife Sept 14th?

Hi Everyone!!

My name is Catherine, I'm a Canadian engineer and I travel to Recife very frequently for work (~half time) where I know barely no one.

I had the ambition of initiating an expat “community” in Recife, and quickly realized it wouldn't be so easy so I started to contact individuals from this expat-blog site. I'm thinking now it may be much more fun to meet all together in Recife so I am contacting you as a group here. Some of you may know each other already, some not...what about meeting next Saturday (Sept 14th), and why not bring or pass the word to your friends (expats and locals)?

Somehow I can feel there's a lot of potential in this city and expat community so wanted to try this out. Let me know if you're interested to meet and what you'd like to do! I'll let you know what comes out of my search and a meeting point if this works out.

I hope to meet you all, and very curious to learn about the different stories from Recife!
Cheers,
Catherine

Hi Katia,

If you want to organize a successful Expat-blog meet-up, you're going to have to take the bull by the horns and do it yourself, because it's unlikely anyone else will take the initiative and do it. I suggest that you choose a location that is centrally located and a time, then post a notice with a RSVP date for at least a week before the event, so you can book a reservation or change. The best chances of success will be if you start to plan well ahead of time and post an announcement about 3 weeks before the proposed event.

Really, one week from now is simply not enough time to get many favorable responses from members since most of them will already have their week planned.

If you still wish to organize a meet-up contact me by private message and I will guide you through the process.

(Edited from original text)

http://yoursmiles.org/tsmile/flag/t67118.gif  Cheers,  http://yoursmiles.org/tsmile/flag/t67054.gif