Moving to Brazil, Job opps

Hi!

My husband and I have an amazing opportunity to move to Brazil and I'm really excited about the experience, but worried about my options for work. I'm American and speak fluent Spanish/intermediate Italian, but I don't speak a lick of Portuguese. Through my husband's job & contacts, I could secure a position teaching English if I start taking the TEFL, but I'm not sure I want to do that. I would love to learn Portuguese, but are there any job opportunities in Rio for non-speakers? My background is in hospitality and PR.

Thank you,
Lisa

Hello Lisa.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

In meantime, I invite you to read to post an advert in the Jobs in Rio de Janeiro section. It can be useful.

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hi Lisa,

http://www.earlylearninghq.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Welcome-banner.jpg

On behalf of the entire Expat-blog Team welcome on board. I hope your experience here will be both enjoyable and informative as well as giving you the opportunity to make lots of new friends.

Regarding obtaining work here in Brazil it's far from being an easy task for foreigners. First of all is the fact that Brazilian law requires employers to prove that they have exhausted all avenues to fill a job vacancy with a qualified Brazilian before they can fill it with a foreign national. Second of all, in order to obtain a work permit you must either hold (or have applied for) a permanent visa or have a temporary work contract. This, I presume, is your husband's situation.

Speaking Portuguese is essential in any field otherwise even in the largest of multinational coporations one would be extremely limited in their ability to communicate with co-workers. Despite the fact that English is the universal language of commerce it is not widely spoken even in business here. It is slowly catching on but one can not hope to get by speaking only English here.