Moving to Chile

I am a cook currently living in Austin, Tx but considering moving to Chile in the not too distant future. I've done minimal research on the internet but would love some insight from expats currently living and working in Chile. I am a cook so any insight into the market would be very appreciated.

Hi austin and welcome to Expat.com!

Harmonie.:)

Hi Austin, congratulations on making the decision to move to Chile!  I moved to Southern Chile from San Francisco a few months ago, and have some info on my blog around living, cooking, eating, and settling into Chile.  Hopefully it will give you a better sense for what it's like to live in Chile - Living in Patagonia .  Let me know if you have any questions for me.

Cheers,
Jennifer

HiAustin! where do you want to live? what are your plans? have you ever been in chile before?
marcela

Hi Austin...I'm an ex-pat myself and I offer fully furnished and equipped apartments to ex-pats moving to Chile...let me know if you need information regarding apartments...All the best and goodluck!!

Anthony

U must go to South of Chile (Puerto Montt, Valdivia, Osorno, Chiloe), there you can learn a lot of different kind of food and cook!

Regards

Very lucky you!
I am not yet an expat, but visited there in Jan 2011 (their summer). 

Restaurants are plentiful. Cooking steak, seafood, and/or Italian you will find plenty options.

they are Steak eaters; not to mention Hot Dog, ha, ha the German influence. There are German restaurants around, I did not notice any, was not looking.

I wish to retire there, but a) revieving Teaching English after age 62, and watching my investments, if both work out I will head out of this place.

S.F. Bay Area no longer friendly to hard working normal people.

A.K.A. Coast_Lover  (like life nearish Oceans)