Process of visiting and living in the Philippines

Hello - my name is Charlie and I'm looking to relocate to Cebu this year. My girlfriend is from Cebu and I'm hoping to find a way to stay with her long-term. I have never visited the Phils, but have spent much time in Thailand, so I'm not a complete novice to Asia. That said, I'm an absolute novice when it comes to navigating the process of visiting and living in the Philippines, so I undoubtedly will have some questions. Thanks in advance for anyone who takes the time to answer those questions! It looks like a really supportive and kind community here. Take care, everyone.

-Charlie

Welcome, Charlie, to expat.com.  There are plenty of things you need to know about the Philippines,  the good news is Thailand is probably hotter than the Philippines unless you were staying in the mountains.  Let us know where your girl lives plus any specific questions you have about visas, economics, society in general.  Good luck!!

@gojirabug

Welcome to the forum, enjoy.

As a US national you can simply roll up here and avail the 30 day visitor visa free. If you are happy here after a couple of weeks then extend your visa at your local immigration office for up to 3 years then you will need to exit the country for a holiday for 1 or more days, then return and start again, there are multiple visa types here and just takes a little looking.

I would also suggest to spend some time here as it's an acquired taste and a little different to Thailand, the beauty here is most speak English.

Good luck and have a great trip.

Cheers, Steve.

@mugteck  Thank you so much for the response. My girlfriend lives in Danao, about 45 minutes north of Cebu city. You are correct about the heat in Thailand - it is brutal! Glad to know the heat in the Phils isn't quite as bad (though I've heard it's still pretty hot).