Simple Question - Are US Social Security funds taxed in Brazil?

I searched the forum for this but only found a post which was discussing pension disbursements.

I'd like to know only about my monthly social security deposit I get from Uncle Sam.  Are these monies taxable or not in Brazil?

Thanks in advance.

(Don't you love tax season?)

I believe SSN deposits aren't taxable as they are already taxed in the US.

@bepmoht I'm not a tax lawyer or accountant, but everything I have read indicates that the full amount received is counted as taxable income by Brasil (in the US, FICA income is taxed based upon your adjusted gross income up to a maximum of 85% of benefits - in Brazil 100% of benefits are counted).  That said, as others have mentioned, you receive a credit for taxes paid in the US in Brazil - so for example if  your tax liability in the US is 15,000 and in Brazil it is 16,000 you only pay 1,000 to Brasil not 16,000. 

As I mentioned in another post, there is an agreement on Social Security between the US and Brasil, but that applies to the paying of taxes into both repective systems and benefits received if you participate in both countries systems.  It has nothing to do with the tax liability of benefits received.

So the short answer is YES. They basically count US Social Security as regular income in Brazil.

Thanks….

Thats one vote for YES.

@madrac

Thats one vote  for NO.

Thanks for replying…

In my opinion, if you receive your pension directly into your bank account in the US (tax paid as required), when you transfer those funds directly to your Brazilian bank account in the same name, you are sending your own personal money and it is not earned income that should be taxed again in Brazil.

I have made numerous transfers between the UK and Brazil over the years, for myself and others, pensions and other funds, and it has always been regarded this way. Plus, if you keep the value to less than R$10k per time, it is not reported autromatically.