Does Brazil tax Disabled US military benefits

I'm a military vet I get disability compensation from the VA I'm getting retirement visa to stay long term in Brazil I use my VA letter in the process so they'll technically know what I make. Do I have to pay taxes on that income? It's not taxed at all in the USA

04/29/23 @freshbatchoflean.  Welcome!  There is some chance that Brazil will tax at least a portion of your disability income. 

Brazil considers the worldwide income of permanent residents to be subject to income tax.  Brazil and the United States do not have a tax treaty that excludes certain categories of income from taxation.  However, Brazil has a policy against double taxation, which it follows pretty consistently. 

If you move to Brazil, you should find  a Brazilian accountant that you feel comfortable with.  That person will probably review your US tax return, your planned transfers of funds to Brazil, and the income (if any) that you plan to earn in Brazil to be able to estimate your taxes in Brazil.  Everybody's case is different, and yours will be unique to you.  In most years, I find that my US refund (I have taxes withheld from my Social Security payment) covers about half of my Brazilian income tax.  The rest is more than offset by the lower cost of living here.  But as I said, each case is different.

Abthree has  nailed. 

You  will be taxed on your declared income in Brazil, however.  If the amount you derive your living expenses exceeds a certain monthly threshold, then you might end up paying some taxes.   You are not taxed in your US earned retirement income if it does not show up in a banking account here.

Theoretically, you could keep your money there in some tax deferred annuity with a low exit penalty, and with draw with your US debit card, yet you would be nickel and dime through  transaction and exchange fees.