Working for a UK company remotely whilst living in Italy

Hi everyone,

I'm a software engineer who is looking to move to Milan with my Italian girlfriend by the end of this year. As part of this I want to work remotely for most likely a UK based company (so called 'digital nomad' style work). I'm currently trying to understand which Visa would work best for me and I'm a little stuck and would like some advice! From what I have seen:

1. The regular "Blue Card" visa does not seem to apply as I would not be working for an Italian company.
  2. The "Digital Nomad" visa which was written into law in 2022 has not yet been  https://www.schengenvisainfo.com/digita … visa/italy and therefore I cannot apply for it.
  3. The "Self Employment" visa which as I am being employed by a company abroad I assume is not applicable? Information here seems to confirm it. If I can seems very difficult to get with a lot of red tape and rejections, plus a limited number are available.

I am at a bit of a loss as to what the best route for me is... am I missing something? Has anyone been in the same situation? Would really appreciate any advice you have 1f64f.svg

Thanks.

Chris

@Chris Self Hi , how are you? Since your girlfriend is Italian you should be able to apply for the residence permit on the cohabitation basis "convivenza di fatto". I posted a topic on this subject and someone who is in the same situation as you said he did it in Milan. I think you have to go to the comune you are in to register ,then to the questura after 8 days of being in Italy. For more info you can make an appointment with "cinformi in Milan. I hope this helps.

Ciao!