Good & bad experiences with real estate agencies/agents

Feel free to make your personal inputs here, alerting or giving suggestions to other people who are going at this moment to what you went through when looking for a house in Portugal :)

Yes! I'm a 20-year real estate broker and am seriously considering getting my license there if I end up moving there (I also have a FT job as a real estate course developer that I can take with me). I may rent my home out here and rent there for the first couple of years so I can really learn the area and learn the ropes. Reconnaissance trip planned in September.

I hope everyone can avoid the scammers in the meantime!

Yvonne

@YvonneAileen It might be a kind of tight squeeze here in central Portugal.  Looking at it from the outside, there aren't a lot of properties that meet the expectations of foreign buyers, and the agencies have stuff sitting around for what seems like years, priced for a market they and the property owners overestimated.  I think there are more agencies than homes for sale.  No idea what they survive on.  I'm sure it's better somewhere in Portugal.  Or maybe there's a thriving real estate market that I don't see, entirely possible.

I talked to four realtors that I remember.  One spoke English, the rest did not.  That kind of surprised me, but could be another indication of how the market really is.

Thank you so much. I'm actually very open. Portugal was on my short list because of the people, the climate, the food, but honestly? The Atlantic cold water scares me. I was spoiled paddle boarding every morning when I lived on Maui for 2 years. Why I didn't stay: Too much transient energy - no sense of community. Portugal appeals to me for its expat population. What I'm looking for:

Beachfront residence

Low cost of living

Warm sense of community

Warm water

Not crazy touristy

Safe