11500 AED p/m plus accommodation - Can I save...

Hello all,

I'm hoping you can help me to see if I'm able to save as much as I hope to.

I'm a Primary School teacher and have been offered 11,500 AED p/m plus accommodation to teach in a British Curriculum private school in Dubai.

I will be moving with my wife and she is currently looking for work in Dubai. We don't have any children.

We don't live a flashy lifestyle and don't intend to change that on moving. Our main expenses/indulgences in the U.K. are going out for dinner but we aren't fusssed about alcohol, especially at UAE prices. We spend about £60 p/m on dining out. Cinema trip monthly. And sky sports and Netflix.

I'll probably look to buy a car rather rent.

I'm hoping that even before my other half gets a job we will still be able to save about 5000 AED p/m of my salary.

So hoping to spend only 6500 aed p/m between us on household bills, phone bill, groceries, petrol, occasional cheap-average priced meals out and basic entertainment. If so, this would be similar to what we spend at the moment in the U.K.

Do you guys in the know think this is realistic? If not can you please advise where I've maybe been too naive.

All advice is welcome,

Thanks

Hello Teacherman18,

It would be very hard indeed to manage to go out for just one night on a budget of £60.00.

AED 5,000 a month would buy you a few nights out a month but they would be at fairly low level places.

After household bills etc. I doubt you will be able to save anything on the salary offered.

nikkisizer wrote:

Hello Teacherman18,

It would be very hard indeed to manage to go out for just one night on a budget of £60.00.

AED 5,000 a month would buy you a few nights out a month but they would be at fairly low level places.

After household bills etc. I doubt you will be able to save anything on the salary offered.

Thanks for your reply :)

So tough to gauge from the various questions and answers I've seen previously on the forum.