Help! Where to live around Lyon with kids: moving from Australia

Hello,

Its my first time this forum and I'm seeking advice on where to settle around Lyon for 12 months with an active 6 and 8 year old.  We will arrive in December 2017.

We are Australians wanting the french experience and to learn the language as best we can. The children will go to a french primary school - recommendations of good ecole elementaire or areas to avoid are much appreciated .

Our wish list is somewhere  around Lyon that's
- within 45mins of the city of Lyon or closer
- village like settling that feels very traditionally french
- cafes and restaurants and ideally a farmers market nearby
- access to public transport.
- Green space for our active kids
- walking distance to local boulangerie etc

Does such a place exist? If not, I'd love to hear your experiences of the next best thing around Lyon!

We are not restricted to an area of France by our work. So other suggestions on places to live with kids are welcome!

Kind regards from Australia,

Kerrie

Hi Kerrie. Fellow Aussie here -- sans kids, but I live outside Lyon. Did you settle on an area? Do you need any advice?

HI,

thanks for your reply. No, we haven't decided just yet and would really appreciate your thoughts on towns that might match what we are after.

A further consideration is the ecole elementaire - some offer french classes for expat kids.  Our approach has been to try and find a suitable town and then enquire at the schools.

Look forward to your reply and hearing about your experiences in France!

Cheers,

We're Aussie too :)

Are you committed to Lyon?

We have two kids at school in Sarlat (Dordogne)....they absolutely love it. Boy is 11 and girl is 8yrs. If you need advice or accommodation we have a beautiful house nearby.

If you need advice we'd be happy to help but we don't know much about Lyon at all, only the Dordogne.

Natalie