Recognition of foreign qualifications in Kenya

Hello everyone,

Were your professional qualifications recognised in Kenya? What country did you complete your qualifications in? What profession are you in?

Did you have to go through any formalities to get your qualifications recognised, such as to have them translated?

If your qualifications weren't recognised, were there any additional tests or exams you had to complete before you were able to practice your profession in Kenya or continue with your studies?

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Priscilla

My qualifications were recognized and I was allowed to practice without problems.

Majdi Elzayat

As a UK qualified accountant I had few problems applying for and being accepted by ICPAK as UK accounting qualifications are accepted in Common wealth jurisdictions.

Hello Pricilla,
When I applied for work permit first time in kenya , had submitted all documents . Permit was issued. I think verification is being done internally. Cause without any queries I got permit. But I think in medical/pharmacy / health science degree holders have to appear exams and have to follow certain process. Same is for lawer/ and accounts certified persons.
Regards
MKG ope

Hi everyone,
I'm in a similar situation. I'm in the US and looking to move, Kenya, Nairobi area, to be with my girlfriend. My background is in financial services. Have a BA in finance and a passport. Any advice??

Kenya is difficult to live in. If you do not have to go, don't go.

Hi I saw your post. I've been making plans to the Nairobi or mambasa area from the US to be with my girlfriend. How difficult. My background is  in financial services. I
have also BA  in finance and a passport. Just looking for feedback. Thanks.

CaryandBabe:  I have replied on your other thread......about working in Kenya.

Majdizayyat previously made the following points about living in Kenya:

Extremely high income taxes
High rate of corruption
Low in safety and security