I am considering moving to villach

Hi
I am Kris. I am a design engineer in Los Angeles, USA. I am considering moving to villach, Austria with my wife and kids.  We are looking for advice and help with basic information regarding life and activities there.

Thanks
Kris

Hi Kris,
I moved to Villach 4 months ago and it is a great place to live.Very safe for you and your family.
There are many outdoor activities to do in both winter and summer.Houses to buy are very good
value and cost of living is OK.

Let me know if I can help,

Ian

Hi Ian,

Many thanks for replying. The company is offering 75k gross. Is it good for a family with two kids (age 3 and 4)? Planning to send them to private play school which costs 300 per kid. My wife had a masters degree in computer science. She wants to work too but I am not sure if she can find one since Villach is a small place. Any advise?

Thanks,

Kris

75k seems pretty good for design engineer for Carinthian standards, but it also depends on any special expertise or experience you may have in the area they are looking for.  Considering they are hiring you in from the US there must be something in particular they are looking for that they can't find here.  Or did you work for the company already in the US?

What i found with expat assignments is that negotiating on the salary is tough, because typically the salaries in the US are already higher than anywhere else, and the salary is a more visible number that will get scrutinized by management or HR. 

Usually there is much more flexibility to negotiate on assistance or full coverage for the move, for the special schooling, accounting for your taxes, housing, or anything else 'soft'.  Another high value negotiation for you may be to get a job for your wife in the same company.  now you still have a chance to negotiate for it, when you are here, their incentive will be lower, and in general she will find it tough to find a job here with another company, I expect.