English Electrician looking to relocate to Malta with family

Hi All,

I'm Gary, a fully qualified & Experienced English Electrician and test engineer with teaching & training experience.
i've got over 25 years experience and have been everything from tea-boy to director and everything in between in my time.

I'm looking to move to Malta in July 2017 (waiting for one kid to complete GCSE's).

I am unsure at this time whether i should go self - employed or try to get a job, i should imagine that'll depend on how much Electricians get paid.

in the UK wages are averaging £35k pa (40k pa euros), i'm expecting a drop of about a third,

Are there any Construction bosses or even electricians on here that could enlighten me further.

the plan is to live in St Paul's Bay.

thanks in Advance.

Hi Gary,

As there are no takers I will at least give you a couple of my thoughts.

I'm also an electrical controls engineer, retired thankfully, and moving over soon.

What I can say is that you will make very little progress with anything in Malta unless you are actually here.

Take a look at the jobs sections on this forum (at the top), Facebook and Maltapark to get some idea what available and what you might expect to earn. Unfortunately, just because it's advertised doesn't mean there is a vacancy, it's a bit like UK Jobcentres.  :)
Same applies to accommodation.
I've not done any research into the technical requirements and qualification differences between UK and Malta but  I would think that doing your own thing would be the way to go, eventually.

Ray

RayAucote wrote:

Hi Gary,

As there are no takers I will at least give you a couple of my thoughts.

I'm also an electrical controls engineer, retired thankfully, and moving over soon.

I've not done any research into the technical requirements and qualification differences between UK and Malta but  I would think that doing your own thing would be the way to go, eventually.

Ray