Looking to move to Mombasa - Advice most welcome

Hi,
I have just joined expat.com because I am hoping to move to Mombasa towards the end of this year.  I would really like to chat to people who are in a similar position to me or to those who have already made the move.  I have been coming to Kenya since 2009 when I spent 3 months volunteering at a children's centre in Nairobi.  I fell in love with the country and the people and have been coming back 2 or 3 times a year ever since.  I have a great network of friends in Mombasa and feel that I could make it my home.  I have done some research but could really do with some advice, especially in looking for work or starting up a business.
I look forward to hearing from you.

glad you have enjoyed your stay in this beautiful country.

I suggest you do more exploration of Kenya

for startup business it will depend on what business you want to venture in

for the case of work employment, it depends on your qualification in your line of career

welcome to Kenya

Hello Luciejane

Kindly note that a new thread has been created as from your post on the Mombasa forum to help you get more interactions from members.

Regards
Kenjee
Expat.com

Hello. Firstly moving to Kenya and becoming a resident here is not an easy process. 

To work legally in Kenya (including voluntary work), you must have a Work/Residence Permit.  There are various classes of these, depending upon your background and what work you may be eligible to do.  For the majority, the Class D, Class G and Class K permits are the ones that may normally be applied for:

If you are looking for employment, you would need a Class D permit, to enable you to work.  These are applied for in response to an offer (to you) of employment.  It is the prospective employer who applies on your behalf.  I have copied the requirements below:

Class D Requirements.
•Copies of academic/professional certificates along with the CV.