Relocating to Nairobi

Hello all,

My wife and I will likely be relocating to Nairobi. We currently live in Vietnam. It would be great if you wish to link with us so that when we arrive (March), we have some people that we can meet. Please kindly note I do not need offers for housing or other services at present so kindly refrain from offering.

I am British, (middle aged) and my wife is Vietnamese. We enjoy food, cooking, outdoors and nature. My profession is business at a senior level, whilst my wife translates, learns languages (Chinese and Japanese in addition to speaking English and Vietnamese) and also writes for a living. So with respect, we're not just looking for people to 'hang-out' with, but for interesting social interaction.

So that is our profile. We look forward to hearing from you.

Hello,  Karibuni Kenya (welcome). 

Kenya is not an easy country in which to settle as a foreigner, even when your partner is a Kenyan citizen.

Immigration rules are quite tough, especially those related to foreigners wishing to work here.  Permits are expensive and bribes to obtain them are common.  On a normal 'tourist' visa, you will only be able to stay here for a maximum of 6 months before having to leave Kenya (and East Africa), then return to renew your visa for a further 6 months.  This visa prohibits work of any kind - even voluntary work.

Added to which, Kenya and Nairobi in particular is not cheap.

I would strongly recommend thoroughly 'doing your homework' before making your final decision.

Thank you Longonot62. I hear your point.

I have lived and worked in various parts of the world, including Africa. The eyes are open. I will be coming to work there. Permits, whether here in Vietnam, or in Kenya are almost always 'challenging' but achievable. Lets us look at the positives and worry about the not so positives as and when they arise. Best, Martin.