Starting a Career in Barcelona !!

Hi all,
My name is Marcello I live in Toronto Canada. I already have my Italian passport so im a member of the EU. Right now i live a pretty comfortable life im a Project Manager for a visual communications company. Im wondering if anyone has any advice on starting a career from scratch in another country?? How do I apply for jobs etc.

Welcome on board Marchy!

You'll be able to work in Europe with your Italian passport.

Have you already consulted big employment websites such as monster.es ?

Have you already been in Barcelona? Any contact there?

Hi Marcello!

I think I can give you some insight into how it is to start from scratch in a new country.  I'm a TV commercials director from London and I came to Barcelona a year ago with my girlfriend thinking that I could try something new.  I wasn't sure if I wanted to work with film and video anymore as it's a very freelance life, which I decided wasn't right for me anymore.  So basically I have been very open minded and looking around to see what's available.  Unfortunately my Spanish is quite poor and my Catalan is non existent, so it's been very difficult.  I could go back to directing ads, but it's been my decision not to for the moment.  The options for English speakers are very few if you have no experience and want to to change your career.  It pretty much comes down to being an English teacher, telesales and customer service jobs.  You see the same jobs all the time on Loquo.com and Infojobs.com (a tip is to type "English" as a keyword if you don't speak Spanish or Catalan).  So my advice is to be prepared as it's very difficult.  If you are planning to come and live in Barcelona (which is a fantastic place) then get in touch.

I wish you luck, Marc

Marcello,