Teaching in Barcelona

Hi,

I will be moving to Barcelona in August this year as my wife has been offered a job teaching in an international school. I am also a teacher and so am also looking for jobs in international schools, however, as a plan B I am trying to find out more about teaching English as a foreign language.

Can anyone offer any information on how I might go about getting such work? I have a PGCE from an English University; would this be sufficient qualification or would I need to complete a TEFL course?

Look forward to hearing from anyone who can help at all.

Cheers

Hi,

My boyfriend and I are moving to Barcelona in Sept. I'm also a teacher and have the same qualification as you. I'm not entirely sure if our qualifications are enough but I think alot of schools look for the baccalauriate (not the right spelling i dont think). On the TES website, alot of the ad's will tell you what they require for applicants.

I'm a drama teacher so I'm getting in touch with theatre schools and private drama classes. What do you teach?You could look into private tuition.

Hope this helps some.

Cat

Hey guys,
Maybe these posts are old and you know all the answers now! If so, would you mind sharing your info?
I'm certified to teach in the US Art all levels, Spanish 6-12, and have pending certification for Generalist Elementary. I'm moving to BCN next week and will have working papers ready in....a while I guess.
Just wondering if y'all found any teaching jobs or have any searching advice. I'm also considering taking an TEFL course there, as many jobs in education seem to want it....
Thanks, teacher friends!
-Angela

Hi guys,

Thanks for posting. I've haven't been on here for ages.