Life with small children in Addis

Hello everyone,

I am totally new here, but have eagerly read many many discussions taking place on the forum, which have been very helpful. I am now daring to selfishly open a new topic and ask whether someone could advise me on life in Addis with a small child.
My boyfriend is most likely to accept a contract in Addis very soon; we have a nine months old son and I was wondering how is it for a westener to live in Ethiopia with such small child. I have no experience of Africa but if it wasn't for my son, I wouldn't be so picky :)
Any info regarding health issues, food, groceries, water (can you give a bath to a baby in tap water?) or availability of baby toiletries, such as nappies, would be greatly appreciated. I want to come as well, but just need a couple of assurances, I'm sure that any mother would understand..

Also, we learned that it is currently the rainy season in Ethiopia, how bad does it get? Should I wait till the end of the rain to come down?

Thanks a lot in advance, I'm really looking forward to the replies.

Cheers,
Zuzana

Hi Zuzana

I know it is worrying to move to a country you do not know and especially with a nine month old baby me and my wife have 8 year old son and we  moved from from London to leave here in ADDIS ABABA. We have found everything we need here you can get all brands of pampers,nappies,baby wipes,baby foods..... it is fine to use tap water for your baby bath but for your baby milk you will need to boil the water or use bottled water. My advise to you is you will find almost everything here in the supermarkets I will advise you who stocks what and the best brands you should you use if you are not familiar with some of the brands from Europe or South Africa or even locally produced. My wife have a shop called baby's world where you can find accessories and baby cribs to an European standard and import.

I hope you find this helpful and do not hesitate to contact me if you need further info.