True and accurate Info!!!!!

My wife and I are originally from Texas but we moved to Florida 7 years ago to be by the beaches.  We love the beach, boating and fishing.  We have decided to become expats because we cannot afford to live how like in the US anymore.
I am a retired firefighter and have a small pension.  We are hoping to be able to buy and run a small bungalow/motel type business for added income.  I am a subscriber to International Living Mag but they seem to only tell you the good stuff and want to sell you their info, as they are a for profit business.  I am not sure which country I want to live in yet, can someone who has been there help me out.  As usual I have thought about the big 3, Belize, Panama, and Costa Rica.  Ecuador, Uruguay, and Honduras have come up on the radar.  I have also come across an island off the coast of Venezuela called Margarita Island, anyone know anything about this place?
Looking forward to chatting with you folks about this subject.  Hope you can give me some good honest responses.  Thanks and God Bless!!Fireman Tex