Is it not safe for a young girl to live in Istanbul ?

Hello everyone!
I am a young woman of 24 years old , i am an English teacher and I am considering of trying to move to Istanbul for a work.The only thing that makes me think twice - is that I am single blond young woman. I once had a job interview with a Turkish school (business English)and they were satisfied with all except that I am a young lady and their clients are mostly men and it might be a "tricky" matter. Would I be bothered  by men that much like they meant?
Please help me to make up my mind.

Hello Cheburecus,

I moved to Istanbul two months ago and from what I've seen, Istanbul is a safe place.

a lot of turkish girls are blonds also and they are free to wear every kind of clothes. 

Generally speaking, turkish people are respectful and helpful.

That is a boy's point of view!!! maybe girls will give you better advice!!

Hi,

I travelled to Istanbul about 3 years ago, and I would be surprised if you had any problems; it's a modern vibrant city and without doubt one of the friendliest places I have visited; I suspect that a lot of "western" impressions of Turkey and the treatment of women stem from stories of holidaymakers to the beaches and coastal resorts, and whilst there is no smoke without fire such tales are often sensationalised.

Hello Cheburecus,

I'm a Turkish and have been living in Istanbul since 1988. I just say  one thing to you dont worry! You can come and work here without any doubt.

but not safe for young men =P I'm just kidding =)

Take care.

Hello Cheburecus,

Istanbul is a very big city. Here you can find lots of intersting and different people. Most of them are friendly and helpful. But as i mentioned before here is very huge appr. 14 million people leave here.Lots of expats and foreigners live here so there would not be a problem for you too if you know where to and with whom to hang out. No place is safe if you find the wrong people.
So if you come you will be welcome.